What I Have Learned Today

Today has been hard on me. I have not wanted to be at work. I have been making phone calls and people have been more rude to me on the phone and in the store than since I can remember. Here are some reflections from work today:

1. When someone from a company that you use for service calls me, do not let myself interrupt the person. Do not let myself talk to the person as though they were a robot. Do not let myself get angry with the person. Remind myself that the person on the other end of the phone is my neighbor. He is trying to make a living and has bills to pay. His closest friend may be going through rehab or he may be going through a very difficult time in his life. Remember that he is a human.

2. God is in control of who treats me like a human and who treats me like dirt. He turns the king’s heart and he turns customer’s hearts to be cordial.

3. When I am reviled – though not for being a Christian – remember my Savior who was mocked and scorned for doing good. He was not trying to sell anything. He did not put anybody out. He gave his life and time so that others might have life. Do not forget that people cursed him.

4. Remember that life is too short to wallow in self-pity. Bills will be paid…some way. God will provide for his children. No good thing does he withhold from those who walk uprightly. If that sale was not good for me, then God will withhold it from me. Perhaps it would have fed my pride. Perhaps the good thing he is giving me are the tears that I cry from being scorned and fearful of tomorrow. Perhaps clinging to him as my provider is better than a fist full of dollars.

5. Remember that cursing and reviling and backbiting my managers is doing the same to my Lord. I am to work as for the Lord. And so when I complain about my quota or my metrics or my leadership, I am not putting my confidence and hope in God who has set them over me. I am not seeing the value of their leadership and the price of the lessons I am learning by being pushed and pulled.

6. Remember that I have been called to be part of a bigger plan than merely sales or earning money. I have been called to take part in a cosmic overhaul of the world I see. I have been called out of darkness into his marvelous light that I might declare to all nations his excellencies. Life is so much bigger than today. God’s plan includes me, yet it is infinitely larger than me. When I die, the world will continue to rotate and people will continue to ask questions. Look for the crumbs that are dropped by unbelievers around me. Follow their crumb trail into their hurts and needs. Go there and sup with them.

1 Comment

Filed under Christian Living, Sanctification

One response to “What I Have Learned Today

  1. J.Majors

    Excellent reflections. Very encouraging. May Christ sustain you in the midst of the frustrations.

Leave a Reply

