Seven Songs…

My friend Jason VanDorsten has tagged me to share seven songs that I have enjoyed this week. I’ll try to fill up seven slots (you’ll see why in a minute). I view this as more than a silly fun thing to do, but as an opportunity to edify others by introducing music they may not listen to. Thanks, for giving me this opportunity, Jason.

1) Plans by Death Cab for Cutie
a. Soul Meets Body: Makes me think of the redemption of the body in the new heavens and new earth where we will not be floating spirits but soul with flesh ruling with Christ and ejoying a land where all things are restored!)
b. Crooked Teeth: This song is a good representation of how this group flashes images and metaphor across the ears
c. Marching Bands of Manhattan: These lyrics are wonderful! Expressions of love and sadness in words that are not cliche. Very creative. “If I could open my mouth/wide enouigh for a marching band to march out/they would make your name sing/Bend through alleys and bounce off of a building… I wish we would could open our eyes and see in all directions at the same time/Oh what a beautiful view/If you were never aware of what was around you. Chorus: Sadness drips into your heart through a pinhole/Just like a faucet that leaks and there is comfort in the sound/ While you debate empty or half-full it slowly rises/ You love is going to drown.)

2) “Somewhere Only We Know” by Keane
(Again, the metaphor and images smack me in the face.) Does anyone know if he is saying ‘faith’ or ‘thing’ in the chorus “Oh, simple _____.” I opt for faith. It is much more powerful.)

3) Interview with Iain Murray on Pastoring

4) WFPK

5) Interview with CJ Mahaney on the Local Church

6) “Mandolin Rain” by Bruce Hornsby. Not that I have been relishing this song all week. I just heard a few hours ago and it brought back many memories from adolescence. It was a sweet minute of two humming with him. I didn’t even hear the whole song. Maybe the most enjoyable part was finding out what the song was saying. I had no clue he was saying ‘mandolin.’ I thought he was slurring ‘wind and rain.’ Also, to see that the images he was bringing to mind after heartache. And I’m trying to stretch out this list. Hey! I just finished parsing an album on this here blog!

7) As you can see I don’t listen much to music these days. It’s not that I don’t like music. More than anything I am extremely disappointed with “Christian” music. You could probably pick up on my tone in my interacting with Webb’s album Mockingbird. I mention how so much of music is a bunch of moaning with no real content. That is why I appreciate Webb’s work so much. Not only is it audible, but it challenges me to think ho wmy Christianity will affect my life.

I have found that much of the time I want to listen to sermons or interviews so I can feed my mind. As you can see with the above ‘songs’ I want to make the muscle in my skull work. I pray that it will never become mush by moaning.

I tag: David Griffiths, Joe Thorn, Kevin Cawley, Justin Taylor, John Piper, and Bob Kauflin.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

