Fights…

I am continually amazed at the gall and vicious words that people type in the blogosphere! I am referring to Dr. Witherington’s post and comments on the ESV. I skimmed and read some of the comments and was pretty disappointed by the way people disagreed with Dr. Witherington.

I believe the post was out of order since it had not been rightly researched and motives of the ESV translation team were called into question. Simply because a brother makes a brash statement doesn’t mean that other brothers are obliged to respond in kind. Yes correction needs to be done, but it needs to be done in a spirit of gentleness (Gal 6.1).

The ESV Blog responded very magnanimously, of which I am proud. I wish Christians would respond in the same kind of informed and caring way.

I am especially encouraged by Dr. Witherington’s humility and apology at the end of his Comments section. It takes humility and a desire to follow Christ to not keep arguing but to admit you were wrong.

I am currently in a care group with Dr. Stuart Scott and I posed the question as to how the exchange of ideas can be done without exchanging blows. I will write on this once we discuss it. How do we disagree and incubate relationships? That is something I hope we can figure out together…

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, Christian Living, Church, Current Events, Interpretation, Sanctification

4 responses to “Fights…

  1. This post has been removed by the author.

  2. Of all things, we’ve come to disagreements over translations of the Bible. It’s rather disheartening.

  3. my translation can beat up your translation

  4. Interesting development. I just noticed that Dr. Witherington has pulled the entire original blog on the ESV.

Leave a Reply

