Bible Reading Plans

200612chronological.png

As the new year has come, it’s time to think of how we will approach our reading of the Bible. First of all, this assumes that you believe reading the Bible is fruitful for your life. Secondly, I assume that you want to be changed. Thirdly, I assume that the Bible is the means God has provided for that transformation.

You see, the Bible is the Word of God written. It has been recorded so that we might come under its authority. As I was sharing with someone at work, it’s truth is not just 2+2=4. Rather, the truth found in the Scriptures is factual AND moral truth. That is, it’s truth demands a life change on our parts as we understand it. That is, it demands application to our lives. If you truly understand the Scriptures then you will stop doing certain things and start doing others. This is not so you can earn your way to heaven. If you truly understand the Bible then you will already know that there is no earning of salvation. Does the person in the grave do anything to merit life?

So what happens? People know that the truth of the Scriptures demands our life, our all. As a result, they quickly discount the Bible as myth (as the people next to me in this coffee shop are trying to say that the Bible is like Greek mythology).

All this to say, the ESV blog has an interesting scatter plot that looks at how the different Bible reading plans look over the year. I wonder what the relationship between which reading plan one chooses to their understanding to how the Scriptures fit together. I have typically followed the Discipleship Journal reading plan, but have been waiting for a chronological reading plan to come. Lo, and behold, it links one in its post.

Visualize One-Year Bible Reading Plans

2 Comments

Filed under Bible, Christian Living

2 responses to “Bible Reading Plans

  1. Hey Mike,

    Just wanted to say thanks for your blog and thanks for the refurb business today! Keep magnifying the worth of Christ in your work and at this blog. Type away!

    Trent

  2. Matt,

    I pretty much read the Bible a bit slower than most. I like to read fewer chapters a day and instead take notes, meditate more on what I read. I used to think I was some sort of Christian looser if I had not sped through the whole Bible at least once a year – now I just write in my ESV journaling Bible, sometimes I read two chapters, some times four, sometimes just one. I typically go back and forth OT and NT with the books I am studying – recently I finished up Hosea, now in Mark, probably heading to Amos next.

Leave a Reply

